Students Studying Indoors

The Support and Care Referral Team (SCRT)

The University of Kansas’s Support and Care Referral Team promotes community wellbeing and prevents violence through early and responsive support. 

Submit a Referral

Our Mission


The SCRT engages proactively and collaboratively across campus to identify, assess, and support students, faculty, and staff exhibiting concerning behaviors and/or experiencing significant distress due to academic stressors, work stressors, or personal circumstances. The SCRT partners with members of the community to promote individual wellbeing while prioritizing community safety. 

Our Purpose


A well-informed community is a caring and proactive community. SCRT educates faculty, staff, students, and community members regarding indicators of individuals experiencing distress and when and how to collaborate with SCRT.

Students looking at a document together

Connection and Care

Direction regarding campus services, supportive policies, and community options can help guide individuals that need continued support. These resources exist to reduce stress, promote wellbeing, and provide academic or work-stress relief when personal circumstances become overwhelming. The SCRT is closely partnered with Student Support and Case Management, who often takes the lead with student outreach and direct student support. The Director of Mental Health and Wellbeing within Human Resources Management takes the lead with outreach and support to faculty and staff members.

Students walking and their reflection


To support referred individuals and address concerning behavior SCRT members consult with—and regularly provide recommendations to— faculty, staff, students, and family members. Team members may provide direction or guidance on campus and community resources, university process, approaches for addressing disruptive behavior, and suggestions for direct intervention.

Two people speaking over a laptop


Meaningful and caring support can assist individuals facing difficulties coping with their environment or personal circumstances. The SCRT strives to connect people to support with the help of early identification, assessment, and response to concerning behaviors to help prevent violence.

Students meeting at a table in Capitol Federal Hall


The SCRT intentionally informs its recommendations through the trained application of a nationally endorsed objective risk rubric by team members from diverse professional perspectives. Post-assessment, the SCRT provides recommendations to a network of university staff members who have the authority to act in support of individual well-being and the community’s safety.

Students partake in a Chemical Engineering lab and run experiments with the help of faculty and staff.Students partake in a Chemical Engineering lab and run experiments with the help of faculty and staff.

Our Team Members

Contacts for Consultative Services


Student Concerns

Rachel Auten, Director of Student Support and Case Management or Jennifer Wamelink, Associate Vice Provost of Student Affairs

Employee Concerns

Jeff Stolz, Director of Mental Health and Wellbeing, Human Resources Management

Other Inquiries

Jennifer Wamelink, Associate Vice Provost for Student Affairs

< Back to Home